Bug reporting etiquette

August 25, 2009

I’m way, way, WAY behind on responding to bug reports.  I’ll only partially apologize; I feel bad that I can’t always help a fellow out, and it’s been months since I’ve responded to some people, but I have significantly less willingness to write experimental code during these beautiful summer days.

With that in mind, if you’ve found a problem with either DD_roundies or DD_belatedPNG (there are many), don’t email me code snippets or anecdotes. I want a full example of the malign behavior you’re seeing, in the form of a URL or an archive (.zip, .rar, .tgz, your preference).

I try to answer all email promptly and thoughtfully, but the volume has gotten to be a bit too much to manage.

To those of you who ask, “Does belatedPNG support background-repeat?” – don’t be that guy, read the docs, see the examples, or try it yourself.

To those of you who report bugs found in some online testing suite (such as BrowserShots) or multiple-IE-versions type software, I am plainly uninterested.  I use VirtualBox with a Windows guest, and have found that approach to be very accurate.

Leave a Reply

